Reflected In You (Crossfire #2) by Sylvia Day

If you read my review for the first book, Bared To You by Sylvia Day, you’d know that I wasn’t impressed, but I really wanted to give Day another chance with Reflected In You. I’m so glad I did.

13596809Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.

We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession…

My favorite thing about this series–that just so happens to be what makes it unique–is the issues both Gideon and Eva have. We finally get to see a little into Gideon’s past, and Eva finally puts on some big girl panties. I was really drawn into the book this time without a single thought of Fifty Shades of Grey, which was exactly what I was hoping for. Day’s characters became the characters instead of a caricature of Anna and Christian Grey.

This sequel really developed, not only into the next step for Gideon and Eva’s relationship, but also for the series itself. In other words, stuff gets real. This book really explores the question: How far would you go for love? After finishing the book, I loved Day’s answer. I thought it was relevant, intriguing and book-worthy. I was thouroughly entertained and enthralled by this book.

One issue I had with this book was the pacing. For example, there’s a moment when they sort of “break-up,” but it’s only captured in a paragraph and it supposedly lasted for days. This impeded my ability to feel the same sorrow and heartbreak Eva felt because it was over so quickly. If Day could draw these things out a bit more, they would have a bigger impact on the reader.

Other than that, this series has definitely built up momentum with a shocking conclusion that will leave you wanting more. I love that this book has become about the characters and their story, and not about that-book-similiar-to-50-shades. I will be reading the next book, Entwined in You, which is released May 7, 2013. There is even talk of a possible fourth book. We’ll see!

STARS: 4 out of 5

One thought on “Reflected In You (Crossfire #2) by Sylvia Day

  1. Pingback: My #UtopYA2014 Experience | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

