2013 Book-to-Movie Adaptations

Publisher’s Weekly put out an article this morning ranking the top 10 anticpated book-to-movie adaptations for 2013. Read the article here: The Most Anticipated Book Adaptations In 2013. I just HAD to comment.

I love movies. The only thing better is books, and if you put those two things together you have either a masterpiece or a trainwreck, depending on the adaptation. Here’s hoping 2013 is a “masterpiece” year. This list includes some books I’ve never heard of but look interesting. However, I’m mostly interested in the YA adaptations.

#6 Beautiful Creatures: I HATED this book. It has a beautiful cover and compelling storyline, but I HATED it. Usually if I dislike a series, I’ll still read on to see if it gets any better. With this book, I didn’t continue no matter how many people raved about it. However, the movie looks like it could be good. And for the life of me, I can’t remember how this story ended, I only know it was lame. Anyone out there remember? I just might check out this movie when it gets to Redbox to find out.

#5 The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug: I think this one is a given. I thoroughly enjoyed the first movie, and even though I haven’t read the book (Shame on me, I know), this WILL be a good one with all the excitement and eccentricity of middle earth. You should go see it too.

#4 The Host: I LOVED The Host. Hands down, the best of Stephanie Meyer. Read my book review of The Host HERE. I’m ecstatic to see this movie! I really hope it captures the characters. I will be seeing this movie come March.

#2 Hunger Games: Catching Fire: Another no-brainer, I WILL SEE THIS MOVIE. I love, love, love Suzanne Collins, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first movie adaptation. Read my movie review HERE. I am so excited about this movie, and so is everyone else on the planet. If you haven’t jumped on the bandwagon yet, you should!

#1 Ender’s Game: This is the one that caught me completely off guard. I hadn’t heard of this one coming out as a movie. I read Ender’s Game waaaay back in middle school. I’m super excited to see this movie and I think I’ll re-read Ender’s Game just to get caught back up on the specifics.

What do you guys think? Are you going to see any of these movies?

2 thoughts on “2013 Book-to-Movie Adaptations

  1. Nice post! Definitely going to see “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”, “The Host”, and “Catching Fire”.

    I am excited about The Hobbit, loved the first one. I’ve never read those books either (nor LOTR), because I tried and they suck, haha, but I love the movies.

    I am beside-myself-ecstatic about The Host. I LOVED THIS BOOK. It has stuck with me and haunted my dreams every day since I finished it. Such a fascinating story that I can’t wait to see played out on the big screen. I hope they don’t give it the “Twilight” treatment, though. With all the kissing in the trailer (NOT in the BOOK), I may be in for a big disappointment! BOO!

    I am luke-warm about Catching Fire. I didn’t really care for the on-screen adaptation of The Hunger Games – no one seemed “hungry”, there was no character development in the movie (the director relied on the fact that most people who were seeing the movie had read the book and already “knew” the characters), and PEETA!! What the heck was up with PEETA? Scrawny and shorter than Katniss…who would ever choose him over Gale?? Oh boy. And don’t get me started on Cinna. It was just sad. But, that being said, Catching Fire was my favorite book because of the arena, so I’m excited to see that come to life.

    Did you know that Divergent is being made into a movie in 2014? SO EXCITING!

  2. I am hoping and praying that The Host doesn’t get the “twilight” treatment either. Those actors have to be good to pull off the host thing. Also, I’m pretty sure there is kissing in the book. Didn’t the main character let the host have her “body” for awhile so she could be with whatshisface? (Sorry can’t remember character names after all this time! lol)
    And you’re right, no one did look hungry…hmm I never thought of it that way. Also, seeing as I am Team Gale all the way, Peeta was going to be a disappointment either way. I am super pumped to see how they pull off the “clock” arena. Hopefully with all the popularity, the money will come rolling in to make this one fantastic!
    And NO I didn’t know it was being made into a movie!!! Oh dear, they better pull this one off. It’s one of my favorites. It’d be interesting to see how they would do the fear simulator.

Leave a Reply

