Prey by Rachel Vincent

The fourth installment of the Shifters series is so good it hurts…literally.

Sometimes playing cat and mouse is no game…Play? “Right.” My Pride is under fire from all sides, my father’s authority is in question and my lover is in exile. Which means I haven’t laid eyes on Marc’s gorgeous face in months. And with a new mother “and” an I-know-everything teenager under my protection, I don’t exactly have time to fantasize about ever seeing him again.

Then our long-awaited reunion is ruined by a vicious ambush by strays. Now our group is under attack, Marc is missing and I will need every bit of skill and smarts to keep my family from being torn apart. Forever.

 Prey by Rachel Vincent is the beginning of a turning point in Faythe’s life where (forgive my French) s**t gets real! There is so much tragedy and loss in this story, although however hurtful it may be, it’s necessary to add validity and strength to this series. It makes no sense to fight constantly without any casualties on the home front. The death in this story is so unexpected and heartbreaking. I can’t bring myself to pick up another book until I feel I have properly mourned the death of this major character. (I know, it’s weird but what can I say, I get attached!) I have so, so much respect for authors that lovingly and wonderfully create characters and, for the sake of amazing literature, have to kill them off. (I know how much it hurts me; I can’t imagine how much it hurt Vincent to write this!)

 However, do not let the imminent death of a major character scare you off from this series. It was amazing! There was a whole other level of emotion. It’s so raw and real and beautiful; it really solidified the relationships in this story. One thing I love about this series is how with each book the reader gets more and more invested in these character’s lives. Now that the line has been crossed, the south-central pack is really amped up and there is tension in the air. I cannot wait to see how Faythe takes her revenge and I think it will be oh so sweet. Justice must be served, and Faythe is the perfect cat to deliver it.

Keep in mind, there is still a lot of levity and lightheartedness in this book. Faythe, the amazing, witty heroine, shows up in full force, and the south-central pack is as amusing as ever. I was even shocked to see the scandal that Faythe found herself in (again!) between Jace and Marc. I can’t even fathom what will happen next! I love this series and I will continue on with the next book, Shift. Hopefully, seeing justice done will lighten my heavy heart.

Leave a Reply

