Pride by Rachel Vincent

Book three of the Shifters Series, Pride by Rachel Vincent, is every bit as exciting and passionate as the first two.

 I’m on trial for my life. Falsely accused of infecting my human ex-boyfriend–and killing him to cover up the crime. Infecting a human is one of three capital offenses recognized by the Pride–along with murder and disclosure of our existence to a human.I’m two for three. A goner.

Now we’ve discovered a rogue stray terrorizing the mountainside, hunting a wild teenage tabbycat. It’s up to us to find and stop him before a human discovers us. With my lover Marc’s help, I “think” I can protect the vulnerable girl from both the ambitious rogue and the scheming of the territorial council.

“If” I survive my own trial…

 If you’ve read my previous review of Rogue (Review HERE), you know that I’m officially in love with this series and the third book did not disappoint.

 I LOVE Faythe. I love that she makes mistakes and gets angry but also does her best to seek justice and do what’s right. As the rebellious daughter of an Alpha, Faythe’s inner battle between independence and loyalty to the pride is spread wide open for all to see. I love to see her fight for what she wants but also work to please her father. She’s such a strong heroine with real flaws but also amazing strengths. I love reading her story.

 I so appreciate the genuine and loving relationship Faythe shares with her father. It isn’t easy to live up to such harsh expectations, but her father still shows compassion even in the midst of discipline. I loved watching the real fear he had about the possibility that Faythe might actually be condemned to die. It’s such a realistic and heartwarming father/daughter relationship.

 And Marc! I love Marc, and the circumstances in which Vincent throws her characters brought Faythe and Marc back to terms in a beautifully unexpected way. It was heartbreakingly real and I want more of them. Their relationship has to be in my top ten favorite couples. Their passion, drive and ambition create turbulence as well as tension in their relationship, making for a bumpy, but steamy ride. It’s so much fun to read.

 I’m also loving the direction the plot is moving. Vincent is a builder, and with each book, I feel like the reader will go deeper and deeper into the character’s lives and become more and more invested, and I can’t wait! I’m loving this series. It has everything I want in an urban fantasy: action, paranormal elements, and romance, as well as great characters, awesome world-building and an amazing heroine. I want more, and the next book, Prey, is on the menu, ready to be devoured. 🙂

One thought on “Pride by Rachel Vincent

  1. Pingback: Were(cat) Wednesday: Pride by Rachel Vincent - Snarky Bird Book Review

Leave a Reply

