Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward

Lover Reborn by J. R. Ward, book 10 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series,  is one of those books I needed to read. Ward has tormented Tohrment for far too long. His story needed to be told.

Ever since the death of his shellan, Tohrment has been unrecognizable from the vampire leader he once was. Physically emaciated and heartbroken beyond despair, he has been brought back to the Brotherhood by a self-serving fallen angel. Now, fighting once again with ruthless vengeance, he is unprepared to face a new kind of tragedy.

When Tohr begins to see his beloved in his dreams—trapped in a cold, isolated netherworld far from the peace and tranquillity of the Fade—he turns to the angel in hopes of saving the one he has lost. But because Lassiter tells him he must learn to love another to free his former mate, Tohr knows they are all doomed….

Except then a female with a shadowed history begins to get through to him. Against the backdrop of the raging war with the lessers, and with a new clan of vampires vying for the Blind King’s throne, Tohr struggles between the buried past and a very hot, passion-filled future…but can his heart let go and set all of them free

What a long and frustrating read! (In a good way.) There was so much loss and pain between Tohrment and John, and Qhuinn and Blay…the list goes on and on. It’s so raw and real it had me tearing up in public places! I felt like I was drowning in sorrow; Ward waits until the last second before oxygen flow is restored and a sigh of relief  is cast from the happy ending I knew was coming. It just took a while to get there.  I know that seems like a spoiler, but come on, if you’re a Black Dagger Brotherhood reader you know the extremes, however unrealistic, Ward will go to give her characters a happy ever after.

Surprisingly there wasn’t a lot of focus on sex. There is sex but I feel the Black Dagger Brotherhood series has grown into this colossal, epic story that sex is no longer the selling point nor the destination. Much like a matured relationship where meaningless sex pales in comparison to true love, this series has reached a whole other level. However, there is plenty to devour in the juicy bits Ward does give us.

I love that Ward is creating these strong plot points and growing them over a few books before they manifest into their own story. With each character, I become attached and wish to see more and more of them. With the official introduction of the band of bastards into Caldwell, my worry that there will be no more stories to tell is squashed. I’m intrigued by their violent yet old world attitude; it brings a historical fiction feel to the series. I want to see more of Xcor and Throe, even if they are the enemy, definitely better than the lessers.

I was satisfied with the ending and Ward has done it again; it was beautiful. I’m waiting in nail-biting anticipation for the continuation of the hanging storylines. I am super amped to hear the story of Blay and Qhuinn in the next book, Lover At Last. It’s going to be epic. If you haven’t started this series yet, you seriously need to. Ward’s books are totally worth it and her characters always seem to find a place in your heart.

2 thoughts on “Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward

  1. Favorite review so far by a lot. Thx! Nearly makes me want to read it.
    For a change of pace, could you review the new JK Rowling book? I’ve heard mixed things so far.
    Bye!!

  2. I’m still split on reading Casual Vacancy. I know it’s nothing like HP and its geared towards Adults. If you’ve read the snoypsis, it sounds kind of boring. I’m waiting to read more reveiws of it myself. I’ll look into it though. Have to please my readers! ;0)

Leave a Reply

