Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London

I really like the cover for Darkness Before Dawn by J. A. London but there is so much more inside than the standard, run-of-the-mill Young Adult Paranormal Romance that it depicts. I was swept away in this story and I loved every minute of it.

 Only sunlight can save us.

We built the wall to keep them out, to keep us safe. But it also makes us prisoners, trapped in what’s left of our ravaged city, fearing nightfall.

After the death of my parents, it’s up to me–as the newest delegate for humanity–to bargain with our vampire overlord. I thought I was ready. I thought I knew everything there was to know about the monsters. Then again, nothing could have prepared me for Lord Valentine . . . or his son. Maybe not all vampires are killers. Maybe it’s safe to let one in.

Only one thing is certain: Even the wall is not enough. A war is coming and we cannot hide forever

I devoured the 300+ pages in less than a day; I couldn’t put it down. I love, love, LOVED this concept of a human delegate being presented before a vampire lord, and it was executed very well. So well, that I was completely blown away.

 I had all of these assumptions and expectations (assumptions made on the cover, I suppose?) because I could see early on how it would sort of play out. Yet, I was completely surprised. The pacing in this book was amazing. It allowed for the perfect amount of character development and build up before everything explodes into this heart-pounding frenzy!

I stand here speechless and awestruck at London’s ability to establish connections between Dawn and Michael, and Dawn and Victor, (LOVE TRIANGLE ALERT!) and make it so compelling and believable. I really wanted to scoff at the young, human girl falling for the powerful vampire but London pulled it off so well. I was so invested! Both Victor and Michael were drool-worthy and formidable candidates to be Dawn’s significant other. Between the two of them, Dawn’s relationships range from comfortable intimacy to roaring passion making it a very juicy, delicious read.

The biggest weakness in the whole book lies in Lord Valentine. He was so ruthless, murderous, and…just plain mean, but I felt like he was swept under the rug in the end even though he’s a pivotal part of the story. I’m not sure what I wanted, maybe some closure?  The only other issue I had is the synopsis eludes to a full-out war in this story. It doesn’t really deliver but the book does set up the plot for one, maybe the next book?

I would highly recommend this book. I’ve been under insatiable booklust lately wanting to read more and more, but Darkness Before Dawn has satisfied my craving. The next installment, Blood-Kissed Sky, won’t be out until December 2012. I will be eagerly awaiting its arrival.

One thought on “Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London

  1. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations: Blood-Kissed Sky by J.A. London « Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

