Rogue by Rachel Vincent

It’s official. I’m in love with this series.

I started out with Stray by Rachel Vincent the first book in her series and thought it was good and had a lot of potential but it could go either way. Rogue by Rachel Vincent, book two, was the deciding factor on whether this series was worth pursuing. It totally is.

 Okay, so cats don’t always land on their feet.

I know that better than most. Since rejoining the Pride, I’ve made big decisions and even bigger mistakes: the kind paid for with innocent lives. As the first and only female enforcer, I have plenty to prove to my father, the Pride, and myself. And with murdered toms turning up in our territory, I’m working harder than ever, though I always find the energy for a little after-hours recreation with Marc, my partner both on- and off-duty.

But not all of my mistakes are behind me. We’re beginning to suspect that the dead are connected to a rash of missing human women and that they can all be laid at my feet–two or four, take your pick. And one horrible indiscretion may yet cost me more than I can bear…

I was a bit skeptical in the beginning. I read Stray (Review Here) a while ago which I liked and most recently read another series by Rachel Vincent starting with My Soul To Take which I  disliked, so I was a bit wary going into Rogue. However, it was awesome. Now I know I only like her urban fantasy not her young adult books.

 Faythe is such a great character. She has flaws, a lot of them, but that’s what makes her so enjoyable to read about. I love watching her make mistakes and learn from them. She has this drive to prove everyone wrong and she firmly believes in her point of view which causes Faythe to go down some hard, bumpy roads. I just really like her. I especially like her with Marc. He is an awesome character too. He loves Faythe so much and would do anything for her but never compromises his loyalty to the Pride. He stands up for his own beliefs in this novel which I totally respect.

 This novel had a lot of action. In fact, non-stop action and Faythe was in the middle of it all. I enjoyed the action but I enjoy her relationships with her father, Marc and the rest of the Pride more. The drama in her personal relationships is very entertaining but at the same time very real. It adds a legitimate element to the story, so people can connect with it.

 I also love that there are steamy sex scenes but they serve a purpose to the story. It’s not just a meaningless sex scene (which are BORING after the bagillionth time) but it keeps the story moving forward so the plot can thicken. 🙂

 I would recommend this series to anyone who enjoys paranormal shape-shifting books and urban fantasy. This was a quick read but a very good read. I feel very invested in Faythe’s life and that’s when a book jumps up to my favorites list, when I feel like I know the character and care about what happens to her. The next book in the series, Pride, is already out. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

One thought on “Rogue by Rachel Vincent

  1. Pingback: Pride by Rachel Vincent « Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

