My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent

I was searching for a new series to be invested in and I came across My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent. I really enjoyed Vincent’s Stray (You can read my review here), so I thought I’d give it a chance.

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

Reading Vincent’s Young Adult series is a lot different than her Shifters series. She does an amazing job of switching her audience. I honestly couldn’t even tell it was the same author.

 I’m not sure how I feel about this book. I liked it. I was entertained for the most part but it wasn’t amazing. I’ve recently gone through this slump where books are good but they aren’t obsessive good where I want to scream from the rooftops about them. Unfortunately, when I’m in that slump, books that would ordinarily be deemed as good seem mediocre in the shadow of their grandiose counterparts. Regardless, My Soul To Take was very unique and the plot wasn’t anything I’d ever come across before. I don’t know anything about banshees or bean sidhe, so it was interesting to learn about them.

I enjoyed the main character, Kaylee, she seemed to be an adequate heroine and I was momentarily distracted by the gorgeous Nash in the beginning but I was ultimately drawn to Todd, a grim reaper. I want to hear more about his story. I was certainly intrigued by the telltale signs of a potential love triangle. (You know, I can never resist a juicy story of triangular proportions!)

There were plenty of twists towards the end which was surprising. I wasn’t expecting twists; I was expecting answers. The relationships formed a bit too quickly for my taste but there seems to be a following in this series so I’ll continue to dig and find out why. The next book is called, My Soul To Save. Unfortunately, the sequel will probably sit at the very bottom of my To-Be-Read list. There are too many other books that I have more interest in than this series. My Soul To Take doesn’t stand out enough among the many, many paranormal romances out  right now.

Leave a Reply

