Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This book left me speechless, speechless and melancholy. I liked it, I really did but the knife through the heart at the end really hurt on this one. I found myself in full blown “mourning” mode where I stare blankly at the wall and spontaneously burst into tears. This novel had a huge impact on me. Plus, I love Lauren Oliver. Before I Fall is Oliver’s first novel but I read Delirium by her first (Review Here). I LOVED Delirium. So I had to see what Before I Fall had to offer.

What if you only had one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing

 It was good — so good my heart hurts thinking about it. I love Oliver’s beautiful writing style and it’s evident in this story. She brings the treachery of High School to life. I was shocked at how vividly she wrote the cruel truth of High School. High School sucks and Oliver got it spot on. I loved the way she presented the story and weaved in bits of information with each passing day. I couldn’t put the book down; I read it in one day! I had to know why everything was happening!

 I love that Samantha had many layers to her personality. There were days where she followed the rules and days she broke the rules (My favorite day, by the way). I loved the narration throughout the story leading you to the heartbreaking conclusion. I loved Samantha’s reaction to the truth she finally sees in each person she’s been surrounded by her whole life. I wanted more of Kent! I enjoyed her shocking interactions with her loser boyfriend and her hot teacher. Lauren Oliver writes the best kissing scenes. They aren’t boring or typical or over-the-top, they embody what I think truly happens/goes through your mind when you’re having that perfect kiss, or imperfect in some cases in this book.

 My favorite thing about Lauren Oliver as an author is her characters. There may be primary and secondary characters but with Oliver you fall in love with every single one of them. Her characters are created with care and wonderfully revealed to the readers — good or bad. I get lost in her stories, so much so it seeps into my daily life and consumes my subconscious. It’s all I can think about. Oliver always gets to the heart of the issue and that’s why her books are so great. She really gets it and you can tell because it’s translated beautifully from the page straight to the soft spot in your heart.

 My only disappointment with the story is the ending. It ended beautifully but I wanted it to go another way. (I know, how selfish of me!) I was bursting with hope by the end of the novel and the end left me reeling. Hence, the “mourning” mode. However, this is a great book. It’s something that speaks to the reader about real issues in a dramatic and touching way. I would recommend this to anyone who loves Lauren Oliver or who likes to read books that make you think. I’m still thinking about this one.

Leave a Reply

