Lover Mine by J.R. Ward

Finally! We get to hear John Matthew’s story! Lover Mine is the eighth book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward. I absolutely love John Matthew; he’s been my favorite since the beginning and it’s been awesome to watch him grow. Naturally, I was esctatic when I got to read his story where he finally gets to be with Hhex.

John Matthew has come a long way since he was found living among humans, his vampire nature unknown to himself and to those around him. After he was taken in by the Brotherhood, no one could guess what his true history was- or his true identity. Indeed, the fallen Brother Darius has returned, but with a different face and a very different destiny. As a vicious personal vendetta takes John into the heart of the war, he will need to call up on both who he is now and who he once was in order to face off against evil incarnate.

Xhex, a symphath assassin, has long steeled herself against the attraction between her and John Matthew. Having already lost one lover to madness, she will not allow the male of worth to fall prey to the darkness of her twisted life. When fate intervenes, however, the two discover that love, like destiny, is inevitable between soul mates.

This book was a little different from the rest, scattered between the chapters were different storylines. Both ended up relating to Hhex in the end but I was confused the majority of the time. I liked how it all came together, but I thought Ward spent too much time embellishing the individual stories. I wanted to read more of the present not the past!

There was so much in this book outside of John and Hhex’s relationship, there’s a lot of Blay and Qhuinn, Tohrment, and Payne. As I’m a bit behind I know that their books are coming up next so I can see how Ward is setting up their stories. I love that about Ward. She is a master storyteller. She has such a strong set of characters and a complex world and she pulls it off so seamlessly, everytime. It’s what keeps me coming back for more.

John and Hhex were perfect together. I loved that they were both broken and needed each other. I loved that Hhex was still Hhex fighting that fact that she loved and was loved. I loved that John accepted who she was even if it meant letting her go. *sigh* After book after book of build up, I was so excited to see them finally come together in such a great way. It was very fulfilling.  I had minor issues with the story, however. Obviously there is a language barrier since John Matthew can’t talk but in the book Hhex picked up sign language in two pages. It wasn’t very believable. I will forgive the minor discretion on the grounds that their witty banter back and forth made it forgivable. I thoroughly enjoyed them together and the love scenes were so steamy! It had that forbidden, never-going-to-happen-again feel.

I loved the deal with Lash being the bad guy, especially since John Matthew and now Hhex have history with him. I’m not a huge fan of the Lesser storylines in these novels but with Lash I actually enjoyed watching the psycho. It was also so heart-warming to see John Matthew and Tohrment come together again. It’s about time!

This is another fantastic installment in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series. If you like Ward, you’ll love this one too. She hasn’t disappointed me yet!

Leave a Reply

