Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

Wondering what all the 50 Shades talk is about?

Welcome to Three Days of Grey! My personal celebration of all things Christian Grey. Needless to say, I loved the series, and for the next three days, I’ll review each book in the 50 Shades trilogy. Day one is all about the first novel, Fifty Shades of Grey.

WARNING: This book is meant for readers 18 and older. This book includes ADULT content.

I’m not sure how to start this review. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James was a fascinating, heart-wrenching, disturbing yet moving novel. I am speechless.

 I jumped on the Fifty Shades bandwagon along with millions of other women across the globe; I mean who doesn’t want to read a book that is so controversial that people want it banned? (Note to people who want to ban books: People will only want to read it more!) In fact, I’m sure the whirlwind of controversy is what has made Fifty Shades of Grey a New York Times bestselling novel, and it fully deserves to be there. However, I may not have picked it up if there wasn’t such a buzz.

 When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.
 
Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

 I am not going to lie, this book is extremely erotic. It starts out all innocent in the first 100 pages and then BAM! Things get crazy and very steamy. At times the sex scenes surpassed my ability to comprehend and I was left shaken, completely disturbed. I’ve read my fair share of trashy romance novels that include a variety of dirty and lewd sex scenes, but Fifty Shades takes the cake. I think it’s because it was so real, so in the moment. Most romance novels can be too cheesy or too cliché with the expected script of orgasms and moaning in the right places. Fifty Shades is set-apart. Not only is the content BDSM but I had NO idea what was going to happen, so I was left clinging to every word in expectant fear. Just as there is a fine line between pleasure and pain, there is a fine line between foreplay and abuse. At times if was very difficult for me to swallow. However, I firmly respect E. L James’ fervent imagination and solid, descriptive writing style. She made is seem totally believable even though it was about a shocking, alternative lifestyle.

 Regardless of my prudish nature, my own inner goddess reared her head throughout the novel. The relationship between Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey was fascinating and delicious. What a guilty pleasure!  I loved it; it was like watching a real relationship grow. In fact the interaction between them was the best part of the book. Christian was mysterious yet endearing and Ana was self-sacrificing yet stubborn. The witty banter between them made me laugh out loud, and the email format was really neat. The book had impeccable pacing and a surprising conglomeration of word usage. It was like a wordsmith’s wet dream.The writing was all vivid imagery and raw emotions. I even loved the play on Grey v. Gray. Nice touch, James.  

 Overall, it was an amazing, well-crafted book. For a woman who started off writing Twilight Fan fiction, this book is bloody brilliant. The ending is a bit of a cliff-hanger, so I will be visiting my local bookstore tonight to pick up the sequel Fifty Shades Darker.

 I recommend this book to those who think they can handle it. If you have never read a piece of erotic fiction, do NOT start with this one. Like I said earlier, it’s almost too extreme for me; however, it’s unlike any other erotic fiction I’ve ever read. There is just so much substance with this book. It’s a story of self-discovery and real emotions between two people falling in love. This is bound to be a favorite.

3 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

  1. I keep pushing myself to get through it. Right now I’m on the first night Ana spends with Christian. Sometimes the unsophisticated writing causes the story to lag for me. But people keep talking about content, so I’m trying to push myself to the end. I think the movie will be way more exciting though.

  2. It gets better once the walls between them come down. If you don’t like it by half way through, it might not be for you. I’m sure the movie will be exciting, but don’t you think it’ll either be too graphic or not consistent with the book? That’s my only concern.

  3. Pingback: Movie Review: Fifty Shades of Grey | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

