Insurgent by Veronica Roth

It’s finally here, the sequel I’ve been anticipating since I turned the last page of Divergent — Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

It starts where Divergent left off, with Tris, Four, Marcus and Peter running from the Dauntless compound after the simulation battle against the Abnegation. Tris, Beatrice Prior, is feeling overwhelming guilt about killing her best friend, Will, while he was being controlled by the simulation. Tris and Four must do whatever is neccessary to unite what is left of their faction and fight back against the Erudite. War looms over the factions and Tris must use her Divergence to make her choices and, ultimately, choose sides.

Veronic Roth has done it again. I have to admit I am always bracing myself for disappointment with sequels, especially the middle novel in a trilogy, but Roth delivers an amazing second book. It’s the same adrenaline-inducing action, magnetic attraction between Tris and Four, and intellectual intrigue and plotting. I so enjoyed this book!

 I love Tris and Four’s relationship. (Four now goes by Tobias, his orginal Abnegation name, which I despise.) Tris is such an awesome character, despite her harsh attitude, she’s a genuinely good person. I love her strength while escaping simulations and her overall bravery, but I like her softer side more, the ability to let her emotions go and just sob because the situation calls for it. I think the stongest people cry; it’s a tool used to get over something quickly, without it, the emotion only festers. Four is the same great tough guy. Tris and Four are perfect together.

There was an element of distrust in this novel between them that perturbed me, but it was neccessary to keep the plot moving. I found myself critiquing the health of their relationship and immediate red flags went up once they started to keep secrets from each other. Trust is very important in a relationship, even literary ones. 🙂 This book had such a hold over me that it left me to question trust in my own relationships. Rarely, do books overtake my personal world — with the exception of the occasional hyperventilating excitement and bursting ecstatic joy! I don’t know if there has ever been a time I believed in something so much that I would lie to my significant other. My initial instinct is to trust my partner to help me pursue this belief. However, Tris and Four disagree about a very important decison. I admire Tris’s strength to take risks for something she believes is right, even though it can cost her everything she loves.

There is a lot of betrayal and scheming in this novel. I wanted to rush to the end just to see the why of every decision throughout the novel. I really like Roth as an author. I love the way she integrates words in her books, not just the way she named the factions and her books, but the way she displays this talent through her Erudite characters. I found myself laughing during the little word lessons from the Erudite because I, too, am fascinated by words.

I could not put this book down. It was everything I wanted it to be. Everyone should read it. Insurgent ended with a shocking revelation which will make the next book VERY interesting.  The third book in the series won’t come out until Fall 2013, which Roth endearingly calls “Detergent,” according to her blog, until she comes up with a suitable title. I personally like the way the titles of her first two books rhyme. However, there are only so many words that rhyme with Divergent and that’s probably why Roth has settled on “Detergent” in her mind until she finds the perfect title. She seems like a really cool person, and regardless what the third book is called, I can’t wait to read it.

2 thoughts on “Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

