A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison

Kim Harrison is one of my favorite authors. When I read books by my favorite author, it’s hard to write a review because my initial instinct is to gush about how much I love it. Which is true, I did love A Perfect Blood. Harrison delivers, yet again, an action-packed adventure starring the lovely, badass Rachel Morgan.

Rachel Morgan is being called out. Hideous murders are turning up around Cincinnati and the disfigured corpses point to HAPA, an organization against the Inderlander’s existence. As an official day-walking demon, Rachel must find the culprits. Once she discovers they are after her Demon Blood, Rachel has to deal with everyone telling her to stay out of danger, including her new werewolf bodyguard. Mostly defenseless due to Elf magic, Rachel might have to finally accept her Demon side in order to survive.

Book 10 in the Hollows series, A Perfect Blood is a great continuation of Rachel Morgan’s story. Harrison continues to come up with original, heart-pounding plot lines, and I love it. I love Harrison’s imagination; her characters are extremely original and I love delving into her world. Along with all the danger and murders, Harrison expands on Rachel’s personal life in this book. She’s melancholy still about Kisten’s death (I miss Kisten soo much! He was my favorite!), and she’s feeling left out, since both Ivy and Jenks are moving on with their lives. There are still plenty of flirtatious interactions between Rachel and some of the most unlikely people, but I like how she’s taking things slowly. There continues to be a surprising amount of sexual tension between Trent and Rachel, and I can’t wait to see what comes of it! As much as I miss Kisten, Rachel’s laundry list of lovers leaves readers intrigued to see what happens next. Touché, Harrison. It makes for a quite compelling series.

I love Kim Harrison and this book is a great example of why. Each installment in her series continues the story of Rachel but each book is wrapped up neatly in the end, with tons of foreshadowing and open-ended questions for the next book of course. It leaves me coming back for more, time and time again. I highly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys a good Urban Fantasy. Rachel Morgan is one badass witch. If you’ve never read her series, start with her first book, Dead Witch Walking, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

