Everneath by Brodi Ashton

 So anyone who really knows me (and reads this blog) would know that even though it says I’ve been currently reading Everneath by Brodi Ashton for weeks knows it’s not true. I’m an impatient person so I naturally rotate through books quickly. I read it weeks ago in two days; I just haven’t had a chance to write this review. The hold up is partially because I didn’t really enjoy it.

Eveneath by Brodi Ashton is the retelling of the myth of Persephone. (Note: I know NOTHING about Greek mythology so I had no idea how this book would end.) Here’s the synopsis.

 Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she’s returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld… this time forever.

She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she’s forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s…

I really wanted to read this book when I first heard about it, but I quickly realized it wasn’t that great. The writing was fine but the story was not believable. (I know, I know it’s based on Greek Mythology, but come on, can’t the characters have normal human reactions at least?) This book really irks me because it’s another one of those girl makes a really, REALLY dumb decision and we’re expected to feel bad for her. I didn’t and still don’t, that’s probably why I didn’t really like it.

Nikki falls into the cliché teenage issue. Something bad happens and she looks for a way to take the pain away. Unfortunately for her, there is a super hot immortal who can literally take her pain away. I could totally accept this if something REALLY bad had happened but it was something really stupid, more like a misunderstanding. Who gives away their soul/life for a misunderstanding?? It didn’t make any sense. A normal human being would never do that. I’m almost pissed at Ashton for creating the character Nikki like this. It influences young adults to think its okay to overact. It was like committing suicide because of spilt milk. Ugh.

Anyway, the only thing I liked was the human character Jack. Nikki and Jack have a really intense relationship. It was one of the only things that seemed real, it had a lot of tension and regrets. Even though I hated Nikki and thought she was dumb, Jack was the only reason I was rooting for them in the end. Their love redeemed this novel somewhat and the sacrifices made on each other’s behalf were heartwarming. However, I was left extremely dissatisfied in the end. I guess I can’t blame Ashton because that’s probably the way it went down in Greek Mythology, but it reaffirms my distaste for mythology; and I didn’t really enjoy the book as a whole.

Everneath is the first book in a planned trilogy. I can’t say I would recommend this book. I kind of want to forget I ever read it simply because I hated Nikki, but who knows I might pick up the sequel come when.

2 thoughts on “Everneath by Brodi Ashton

  1. It sucks that this book isn’t very good. I LOVE the story of Persephone – you should check out Mythology more. For someone who loves to read, Mythology is where good storytelling got started! You know that in the real story, Cole represents Hades? Yea…haha! Thanks for the review, I might still read because I miss those high school, Iliad-Odyssey days.

Leave a Reply

