The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Okay, so apparently I’ve been living under a rock, a gigantic, life-sized rock. I just stumbled across the most amazing news! The Host by Stephanie Meyer is being made into a movie, like right now. The release date is March 29, 2013, only a year away!

If you do not already know, I LOVED The Host. Anytime anyone asks about Twilight or Stephanie Meyer, I always tell them to read The Host because it is ten times better than Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Twilight and I can never get enough of my favorite characters, (*cough* Team Jacob *cough*) but The Host is an amazingly written, original, unique novel. It. blew. me. away.

I was extremely skeptical when I first picked it up. I find that most authors who have a really famous series don’t usually succeed as well in their other writings, especially since Meyer jumped from Young Adult to Adult Fiction for The Host, AND  she wrote it between Eclipse and Breaking Dawn! Despite all my skepticism, The Host was magnificent. Here is the synopsis.

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. Our world has been invaded by an unseen enemy. Humans become hosts for these invaders, their minds taken over while their bodies remain intact and continue their lives apparently unchanged. Most of humanity has succumbed.

When Melanie, one of the few remaining “wild” humans, is captured, she is certain it is her end. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, was warned about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the glut of senses, the too-vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

Wanderer probes Melanie’s thoughts, hoping to discover the whereabouts of the remaining human resistance. Instead, Melanie fills Wanderer’s mind with visions of the man Melanie loves – Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she has been tasked with exposing. When outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off on a dangerous and uncertain search for the man they both love.

Anyone who bad mouths Stephanie Meyer has to eat their words after reading this book. This story has so many complex layers and such a strong, out there concept, it’s utterly genius and completely unexpected from the Mormon mom who brought us sparkly vampires. Meyers’ true literary colors shine through with her biggest strength, character development. In this book, she literally develops two characters trapped in the same body. It’s extremely impressive and it makes for a great read. If you like tension and suspense in your romance, you will LOVE this book.

I am so glad that this book is a standalone novel. It left me satisfied when the book came to an end. It felt complete, and as much as I love being able to continue reading a series, leaving this novel to itself was a great decision. I would highly recommend this book, especially if you’ve read the Twilight series, but even more so if you could care less about Twilight. This book doesn’t have any creatures of the night or werewolves, just aliens and humans, an amazing sci-fi adventure for everyone.

I am so, so excited to see this one come to life! I just pray it isn’t horrible like the movie Twilight, but better produced like the more recent Twilight films.

Watch the teaser trailer for The Host movie below.

Awesome, right? I’ve got goosebumps!! I’m interested to know, did anyone else know about this?

One thought on “The Host by Stephanie Meyer

  1. Pingback: 2013 Book-to-Movie Adaptations « Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

