Lover Revealed by J.R. Ward and Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward

I thought it was only going to get better, and it sure did. Lover Revealed by J.R. Ward, the fourth book in the series, is the story of Butch, the human ex-cop who’s been taken in by the brotherhood despite rules against humans knowing about vampires. He’s unfortunately fallen for Marissa, a vampire aristocrat with perfect beauty. When Butch gets hurt, will Marissa save him when no one else can?

I was pleasantly surprised by Butch’s story. At first, I was annoyed. I didn’t want to read his story. I wanted to hear about the brotherhood, and Butch as a character in the first novel really rubbed me the wrong way. I didn’t like him. However, in this novel, he redeemed himself. As a character, his rough edges were smoothed out and we got to see the truth of his past. It was nice to see why he is the way he is.

I loved how the relationship between Marissa and Butch bloomed. It was very natural and sexy. And with Marissa being a virgin, it wasn’t cliché. It was believable and not overdone. The sensitive side of Butch came out and Marissa found her inner strength. It was nice to see her come into her own away from her overprotective brother. I really enjoyed their story. However, there were some moments between Butch and his buddy Vishous that were questionably passionate. I’m not sure I liked it. It didn’t fit well with the story but it sure added tension. It was exciting to see how Butch was more permanently integrated into the Vampire world. I love how things build up for the better of the series as a whole. Each time I read Ward, I look forward to the continuation of the secondary character’s stories in between the main character of each installment, like John Matthew. I LOVE LOVE LOVE John Matthew. I look forward to reading his point of view every time. I can’t wait to hear his full story.

The fifth book, Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward was interesting to say the least. I was so excited to finally hear Vishous’s story, especially since he was all depressed from his lack of visions and watching everyone else find mates. In this book, Vishous gets extremely hurt in a fight with the lessers and ends up in a human hospital. A human surgeon, Jane, saves him from dying through emergency heart surgery potentially exposing what Vishous is to the world at large. The brotherhood must take extreme steps to cover their tracks, including — to Vishous’s insistence — kidnapping Jane.

I have to be completely honest; there are a lot of things I did not like about this book. I always liked Vishous as a character and was anticipating hearing his story but the only thing really enjoyable for me was John Matthew’s continuing story in the background.

I didn’t enjoy Vishous’s story because it got too freaky. As a brotherhood reader, we know Vishous is the freaky, S & M, enjoys pain kind of lover. I just couldn’t handle it. It distracted me from the story. I also didn’t like how Ward “fixed” the situation in the end so that the two lovers could end up together. In every novel so far, something miraculous has happened to ensure True Love wins. However, I thought Jane’s end situation was unrealistic and distasteful. I don’t want to spoil the ending, but who would want to end up like that???

I did, however, like Jane as a character. I liked her a lot more than some of the other lead women in the series. I even liked seeing the softer side of Vishous through some of the twists Ward presents us with, particularly with the Scribe Virgin. There are a lot of twists in this book. It all seems to be leading somewhere. I enjoy the foreshadowing of things to come, especially with characters like Manny, the human surgeon who was originally interested in Jane before Vishous stole her away. I can’t wait to see what happens next and that’s what keeps me coming back for more. Also, there was an absence of Lessers in this book, which was refreshing. There are lessers around and there are interactions, but there aren’t the boring, interrupting chapters of lesser inner dialogue. I never liked being inside the mind of a lesser.

I really like J.R. Ward’s writing style. She does an amazing job of flipping from the adult things to the more juvenile dialogue. I would almost like to see Ward write a Young Adult novel. I love to hear John Matthew’s perspective, not just because I love John Matthew, but because she really understands and portrays what young people go through. It really shows Ward’s miraculous talent. I thoroughly enjoy this series.

If you like the series, of course you should keep reading. If you haven’t started, you really should.

Leave a Reply

