Releases and Recommendations

I love Tuesdays! Why? Because books are released on Tuesdays!

Every Tuesday I’ll be featuring a release or a recommendation or sometimes both. The releases are books I’m looking forward to reading, so much so I have their release date written in my calendar so I remember to go to the bookstore and buy it that day. The Recommendations are books  I recommend that I haven’t necessarily reviewed or ever will write a review for because I read them so long ago; yet they are books that really influenced me and I cherish deeply.

First, HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

In celebration of the Holiday of heart-shaped boxes of chocolates, grocery store bought roses, and expensive but useless cards, I am kicking off my weekly Releases and Recommendations with an emphasis on finding love and devouring chocolate.

RECOMMENDATION

Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause is one of my all time favorite books. I read it way back in the middle school days and it was the gateway book to all that I love and read today. It was the very first werewolf book I ever read.  Here is the synopsis.

 Vivian Gandillon relishes the change, the sweet, fierce ache that carries her from girl to wolf. At sixteen, she is beautiful and strong, and all the young wolves are on her tail. But Vivian still grieves for her dead father; her pack remains leaderless and in disarray, and she feels lost in the suburbs of Maryland. She longs for a normal life. But what is normal for a werewolf?

Then Vivian falls in love with a human, a meat-boy. Aiden is kind and gentle, a welcome relief from the squabbling pack. He’s fascinated by magic, and Vivian longs to reveal herself to him. Surely he would understand her and delight in the wonder of her dual nature, not fear her as an ordinary human would.

Vivian’s divided loyalties are strained further when a brutal murder threatens to expose the pack. Moving between two worlds, she does not seem to belong in either. What is she really–human or beast? Which tastes sweeter–blood or chocolate?

I can remember with great clarity the impact this book had on me. It opened up all sorts of doors with that first taste of the paranormal realm. Because of this book, I will most likely name one of my children Aiden. I have loved that name ever since reading this story. This book was exciting and dare I say, delicious? There is somewhat of a juicy, love triangle full of tension and the characters come alive through all the action. I highly recommend it.

However, do NOT under any circumstances see the dreadful excuse for a movie they put out a few years ago. It was horrible. Of course I went to see it, and I about cried. It was a disaster; it had a very loosely tied manuscript and fake looking “special effects”. It wasn’t even the same story, if they would have stuck with the book it could have been a huge hit like Twilight.

RELEASE

One of my favorite things to do on a Monday night is to sit in front of the television and watch The Bachelor. I’m addicted. I’ve watched it for years picking my favorites and sharing with the rest of the world a strong dislike for the girl/guy everyone loves to hate.

So, when I heard The Selection by Kiera Cass was a bachelor-esque dating competition for a prince. I was sold!

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

I have great expectations for this book! It will be released Tuesday, April  24, 2012. Can’t wait!

One thought on “Releases and Recommendations

  1. “The Selection,” huh? One more book to add to my growing list! I hate The Bachelor, but this book sounds pretty sweet! Plus, I love the cover. Thanks for the info. on it. I’m always looking for more books to devour 🙂

    P.S. Keep up the good work on the blog! I really enjoy reading your reviews.

Leave a Reply

