The Death Cure by James Dashner

Note-To-Selph Readers: If you aren’t familiar with the series, it’s about a group of teenagers trapped in a life or death experiment of sorts. There are way too many questions and not enough answers. The Gladers have been fighting for their lives through the first two stages (Books one and two) and are now to the final experiment. But will they participate? or is there a mutiny on the horizon?

I have been waiting so impatiently since The Maze Runner to figure out the purpose of James Dashner’s world. With James Dashner’s final book in the Maze Runner Trilogy, The Death Cure, I am pleased to say it was everything I wanted it to be.

Thomas and the Gladers are in for one last adventure and this time they either get free of WICKED or die trying. The magical pull of this series is how much the reader cares about the characters, so much so that the reader is rooting for them until the very end. There is always that small flicker of hope that drives the characters to freedom.  There was so much action in this book! I would like to pat Dashner on the back for taking such an extreme step in the last book of his series by sacrificing so many characters in this final battle. I was sad to see them go but it was necessary to make this last novel so great.  It made the book so much more believable. I hope boys everywhere are flying to the bookstores for this series. It does have a romance element but it is very minimal. This isn’t a book for romance, that’s for sure, but I don’t think that’s what Dashner wanted it to be. It was just enough romance to keep the interest peaked for potential character relationships.  Plus, they are running for their lives, absolutely NO TIME for romance!

I loved Thomas as a character. He was so believable that I want to pat Dashner on the back again for making such a wonderful well thought-out character. He is so filled with distrust for everybody and everything. (What a normal person would do.) I loved the fact that he wasn’t head over heels in love with Teresea but still interested (What a normal person would do.). I loved that he did his best to protect all the Gladers and was haunted by the deaths of his friends (WHAT A NORMAL PERSON WOULD DO.). I have to say, I was impressed.

There were only a couple of small issues I had. Like I said earlier, people drop like flies in this last book and even though I am attached to the characters, I didn’t cry. Now I ask myself: If I absolutely loved this book and I’m attached to all the characters, why didn’t I cry? It wasn’t because their deaths weren’t moving or shocking because they were. Maybe, I’ve just been drained emotionally lately. Who knows? But it was no fault of Dashner’s.

I would highly recommend this series. It’s a little hard to get into at first if you’re a girl but it is soo worth it. The best thing about the final book in this series is that I am completely satisfied. I have closure. There is nothing worse than a series ending and all the loose ends aren’t tied up, especially a series with so many haunting questions like this one.

 

 

One thought on “The Death Cure by James Dashner

  1. Pingback: MOVIE REVIEW: The Maze Runner | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

